We have two different tools for editing your content. You can edit your captions in one Transcript Editor or Caption Editor.
The Transcript Editor is best used to check and edit the main project data your captions will be created from. Use it to clean up the text in ASR projects, add/remove or update speaker names, or quickly check the timing accuracy among other things prior to creating your caption files.
To open the Transcript Editor, click the “Edit Transcript” button near the top left of your page.
PLEASE NOTE: Changes made in the Transcript Editor are not automatically applied to existing caption files. You will need to Resync existing caption files to get the changes to appear.
The Caption Editor is best used to edit and review specific caption files. You can review and adjust caption text, style, timing, and positioning, among other things. Changes made here will only be applied to the specific caption file you are editing.
To open the Caption Editor, tap the “Edit CC button” on the caption file you want to edit.
PLEASE NOTE: Changes made in the Caption Editor are only applied to the caption file you are editing. You will need to Overwrite Transcript to get the changes made in this caption file to the main project data.
Changes made in the Transcript Editor are not automatically applied to existing caption files. You will need to Resync existing caption files to get the changes to appear. After you edit your transcript in the Transcript Editor, go back to your project page and refresh it. You will then see your existing caption files go from a green complete to a gray out of sync status. To resync and pull in the changes you made in the Transcript Editor to your caption file hover over More Options and click Resync.
NOTE: any timing, styling or positioning changes already made in the caption file will be overwritten
Changes made in the Caption Editor are only applied to the caption file you are editing. If you want to create a new caption file (or a translation) taking those edits into account then you will need to send the edits back to the main project data. To do that you will need to Overwrite Transcript by hovering over More Options and clicking the Overwrite Transcript button.
NOTE: Please note, doing this will delete any existing caption files (including translations) and send your project back into a Timing Transcript status.